Pursuant to due call and proper notice thereof, the first meeting of the year for the Breckenridge City Council was held on January 9, 2023, at 5:00 p.m., City Hall Council Chambers, Breckenridge, Minnesota.

Members Present: Mayor Russell Wilson; Council Members Beth Meyer, Evie Fox, Reed Johnson, James Jawaski, Chris Vedder, and Scott Wermerskirchen. City Administrator Lori Conway and City Attorney Jason Butts.

Members Absent: None.

Mayor Wilson called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Administrator Conway administered the Oath of Office for Mayor Wilson, Council Members Meyer, Fox, and Jawaski.

Council Member Johnson moved to approve the agenda. Seconded by Council Member Jawaski and carried unanimously.

Open Discussion: None.

Motion by Council Member Vedder to approve the Consent Agenda. Seconded by Council Member Johnson and carried unanimously. The Consent Agenda included the following:

- A. Motion to approve the minutes of the regular City Council meeting on December 19, 2022.
- B. Motion approving to file the minutes from the Public Utilities Commission meeting of December 19, 2022.

Building Official, Chris Loehr, presented his 2022 Annual Report of Permits Issued.

With a list for 2022 bills and for 2023 bills, Council Member Wermerskirchen offered Resolution No. 13324-1/2023, **"A RESOLUTION ALLOWING THE BILLS AND CLAIMS AGAINST THE CITY OF BRECKENRIDGE,"** and moved for its adoption. Seconded by Council Member Vedder and carried unanimously.

Council Member Jawaski offered Resolution No. 13325-2/2023, **"A RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE WAHPETON DAILY NEWS AS THE OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER FOR THE CITY OF BRECKENRIDGE,"** and moved for its adoption. Seconded by Council Member Meyer and carried unanimously.

Council Member Vedder offered Resolution No. 13326-3/2023, **"A RESOLUTION DESIGNATING DEPOSITORIES FOR CITY FUNDS,"** and moved for its adoption. Seconded by Council Member Johnson and carried unanimously. Mayor's Comments: The Mayor appointed various Council Members to certain committees as follows:

| <u>Public Works Committee</u> Jim Jawaski, Chair Evie Fox | <u>Police Committee</u> Jason Butts, Chair Scott Wermerskirchen |
|---|---|
| Personnel Committee | Active Living Committee |
| Jason Butts, Chair | Reed Johnson |
| Reed Johnson | Evie Fox – citizen not Council |
| Scott Wermerskirchen | |
| | Special Assessments Committee |
| Finance Committee | Jason Butts, Chair |
| Chris Vedder, Chair | Reed Johnson |
| Beth Meyer | |
| | Other Boards/Committees: |
| Port Authority | Arts Advisory Board – Chris Vedder |
| Reed Johnson | Library Board – Evie Fox |
| Evie Fox | Vector Control – Scott Wermerskirchen |
| | Planning Commission – Chris Vedder |
| | Planning Commission – Evie Fox – citizen not |
| | Council |

Other Comments: None.

Motion by Council Member Jawaski to adjourn the meeting at 5:07 p.m. Seconded by Council Member Meyer and carried unanimously.

ATTEST:

RUSSELL WILSON, Mayor

LORI A. CONWAY, City Administrator